Boston, You’re My Home

Another week has begun! Hope everyone had a great weekend. Mine was full of school comedy shows, delicious brunches, and (unfortunately) some midterm studying.

MBA-Meme

Although one of the best parts of going back to school full-time has been the extra days off, it has definitely taken me a while to get used to it. I’m so used to having to count my vacation days or to coordinate trips with paid holidays, or strategically “working remotely,” that I default to not planning trips at all (I just assume I can’t do it, haha).

Luckily, I am trying to rectify this now and take advantage of this freedom while I have it. I realized a few weeks ago that I haven’t seen my sister and her family (my brother-in-law, and the funniest nephew and niece everrrrr) since Christmas, and I probably wouldn’t get a chance to go back to my east coast hometown until after my summer internship is finished. I don’t have classes on Mondays or Fridays, and coupled with my sister’s birthday last weekend, it was the perfect storm of reasons to make a quick getaway to Bah-ston!

IMG_4318

I admittedly am not the most up-to-date on things going on in MA anymore, despite having been born and raised there. I don’t have a Boston accent (which a lot of people in the Midwest are very surprised by – I have no idea why that would shock people any more than the fact that I do not personally know Ben Affleck and Matt Damon), and I don’t religiously follow the hometown teams. But whenever someone asks me where I’m from, I think of Massachusetts first and probably always will. Last weekend was a quintessential trip home for me, complete with Boston Chinatown dim sum, exercising my auntie skills, and general bickering with the fam. Some choice convos from the weekend:

Teasing my nephew that I might wet my bed and need to share with him when I stayed at my sister’s house – 

“Um, Christina Yi Yi (Chinese term for aunt)? I don’t think grown-ups wet the bed.” – nephew

“Why do you think that?” – me

“My mommy and daddy don’t wet the bed.” –  nephew

“Maybe they just don’t tell you.” – me

“…No, they would tell me.” – nephew

He has also learned the word, “unfortunately” – 

“I love this yogurt!” – nephew

“What’s your favorite flavor?” – me

“Strawberry banana!” – nephew

“Yum! Is that the flavor you’re eating now?” – me

“No, unfortunately, this is blueberry.” – nephew

Watching the Game of Thrones season premiere with my parents, who are superfans – 

“It’s 9:06! Why hasn’t it started yet? Are we going to miss the last 6 minutes now???” – dad

“This is dumb. I already finished my ice cream and it hasn’t started yet.” – mom

“Head toward The Wall. Jon Snow is Lord Commander there!” – Theon Greyjoy (paraphrased)

“NOPE.” – mom

“Myrcella!” – Queen Cersei

“NOPE.” – mom

Is it just me, or should I start live-tweeting my parents’ commentary on Game of Thrones? It cracks me up!

All in all, a great trip. Looking forward to doing some more traveling while I can 🙂

Leave a Reply

