Settling In

All right – I’m about 2 weeks into classes now and finally feel like I’ve settled into some sort of routine. I’ve been told over and over in the past few months that business school can be a brutal lesson in time management. A major goal of mine is to try and maintain some balance between academics, school social activities, non-school social activities, job search, and personal downtime. 

Mean-Girls-Popular-Tweet

I think I’m doing an okay job so far, but maybe it’s too soon to tell. There is definitely a small internal struggle that occurs every time an email for an event shows up in my inbox. Would I rather attend this event or get homework done or be alone in my room doing nothing? Decisions, decisions. Knowing myself, I am trying not to let the “be alone in my room doing nothing” win out. At least, not all the time.

cant go out

Anyway, some updates on life since we last spoke. My parents came to visit to verify that I am not living in squalor, not malnourished, and not in danger while on campus.

mg bus

In other words, they wanted to check out my new apartment and new school.

I got a chance to see my old coworkers during a happy hour celebrating my former manager’s moving on to greener pastures. It was great to see everyone and catch up. I always get a feeling in those situations, though, that I’m like that person who graduates high school but keeps going back to hang out.

go here

It’s not that I haven’t moved on, but I am definitely still interested in what’s happening over there. I’m also nosy and like to keep up on all the gossip.

secrets

I’ve also had some good eats this weekend, starting off with lunch at Good Stuff Eatery on Friday, and of course, a stop at Yolk with Tia and Maya on Saturday for brunch. Unfortunately, I have fallen out of the habit of taking foodie pictures, but will try to rectify that for the next post so you don’t have to keep putting up with the annoying gifs I find online instead.

know right

Question of the Day: As I’m sure that most of you are much cooler people than I am, how do you keep track of all your many social obligations and day-to-day duties? I am slowly trying to become a Google Calendar whiz. Stay tuned.

wed pink

Leave a Reply

