Weekend Eats

Ah, Sunday, we meet again. If only you could cram a few extra hours into your schedule so we could all keep Monday at bay. Alas, that is not possible. Because of how days work.

Anyway, hope everyone had a great weekend! In typical fashion, I ended up eating my way through mine. On Saturday, my former apartment building had a cookout on its sundeck where I stopped by to grab some lunch. There was a decent spread available, including burgers, brats, chicken, corn on the cob, pasta salad, chili, fruit, and gelato. Unfortunately, the servers were only allowing each person to get one type of meat – Boo…

IMG_3048

Okay, twist my arm, I will still eat any brat offered to me.

From my former apartment to my new one! That night, I also had a few good friends over for a semi-housewarming dinner. When I was trying to find something easy to make that would satisfy a group, I came across this recipe on Pinterest and decided it was happening. Doesn’t hurt that it comes from a website called Cooking and Beer which I’m going to have to continue checking out because those are two of my favorite things.

I would say the Lemon Chicken Pasta Bake was a success though!

IMG_3049Nom nom nom. (Please ignore the Michigan paper plates. A certain Wolverine I know was tasked with providing the disposable dishware for dinner and claimed these were the only option available. Wildcats > Wolverines!)

I also threw together a salad made with baby spinach, sliced green apple, chopped walnuts, and goat cheese.

IMG_3050

Served in a super classy mixing bowl, as you can see.

My friends rounded out the meal by bringing delicious wine, cookies, and their generally awesome company 🙂

Today felt like a good day to be fairly lazy, but only if I could top it off with another yummy meal.

IMG_3056

Baked italian sausage, green peppers, and onions, served over white rice. Super easy to make, and goes great with a side of free movie rental from Google Play. Chris and I watched Ex Machina which was a little creepy, but kept my attention the entire time. Worth checking out if you’re into semi-futuristic, technological thrillers.

Question of the Day: What are your Sundays like? I feel like I keep it pretty chill at the end of the weekend, although I sometimes keep it pretty low-key through the entire weekend. I can sometimes be old-lady-like in that I only have energy for one big activity per day. Going to have to step it up soon once I’m back in school mode!

Leave a Reply

