Free Food Tastes Better

I know I just joked about this, but when I came up with the subtitle of this blog: “An MBA student’s endless search for free food,” I didn’t think much of it. I just assumed that, like my college days, I would be seeking out as many opportunities for free meals as I could.

Well, in the past few days, I’ve been swimming in free food! And school hasn’t even started yet!

  • Wednesday – Free pizza dinner, courtesy of catered work meeting leftovers + free popcorn sample from my building lobby for dessert
  • Friday – Free lunch at Siena Tavern on my old boss. We split a truffle mushroom pizza and a kale caesar salad and both were mm, mm, good.

Fast forward to this morning, when breakfast was on Corner Bakery! As an email member of the cafe, I was sent an invitation to try out their breakfast “flats” for free. Chris and I both headed over and ordered 1 bacon flat and 1 ham & spinach flat (both also served with eggs and cheese).

IMG_3042 IMG_3043

Um, does that ham & spinach one look weird to anyone?…

There were no eggs on it! An excellent server took care of that for us, though, and offered a free treat on the house for the error. That makes 2 free treats since Chris had a coupon for a free cookie already. Talk about free food karma!

We followed up our eating spree with a trip to the movies to see Ant-Man. As someone who does NOT like bugs, I could have done without some of the close-ups of all the fellow ants who help out the main characters, but overall, I thought it was a great addition to the Marvel movie universe. And how can you not like Paul Rudd?

Anyway, it’s a hot one in Chicago today, so I’m anticipating the rest of the weekend will be spent finding ways to keep cool.

Question of the Day: Who is your favorite superhero? I was a big fan of Iron Man when it first came out, but Captain America is up there, too.

dwight (2)

Leave a Reply

