Playing Tourist

Happy Monday! How was everyone’s weekend?

Chris’s family was visiting Chicago, so there was lots of eating and walking around to be done! We kicked off the weekend with dinner at Eataly, where we got some apps at the brewery restaurant and then entrees in the pasta restaurant. I’ve been to Eataly once before (<–my old blog!) when the location in Chicago had recently opened. I’m happy to say that it wasn’t crazy crowded this time like it was then. There was still a fairly long wait, however, which I’m never a fan of, especially when I’m gettin’ hangry.

58092953

I’m not one to complain about a plate of pasta, though, so I would say it was a successful meal.

On Saturday, we walked along the Chicago River for a little bit before stopping for a light lunch on the outdoor patio of Lizzie McNeill’s. We had plans to go the Taste of Chicago for real lunch, but the weather had other plans for us and we decided not to risk getting stuck at the outdoor festival in the rain. Instead, we window-shopped at Water Tower Place before attending a Saturday evening service at the Holy Name Cathedral. Then it was on to the main event…

52030905

That’s right, we went there. And it was delicious. I had the Louisiana Chicken Pasta and split a Mango Key Lime cheesecake with Chris. Also, a few words of advice: Do not look up the nutritional and caloric content of dishes at the Cheesecake Factory if you want to not feel disgusting.

I guess I wasn’t too deterred, though, because we got brunch at Yolk the next morning where I polished off an Irish eggs benedict made with corned beef hash. Oh man. I could eat corned beef hash ALL. DAY.

That about sums up my weekend happenings. It was a rough start to the morning today with lots of rain in the city, but it looks like it’s all cleared up for now.

Question of the Day: What is your favorite breakfast food? I’m all about dat hash.

Leave a Reply

